A Food and drink forum. FoodBanter.com

Welcome to FoodBanter.com forums which provide access to the finest food and drink related newsgroups.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most newsgroup discussions and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics to the food related newsgroups, communicate privately with other FoodBanter.com members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support.

Go Back   Home » FoodBanter.com forum » Food and Cooking » Cooking Equipment
Site Map Home Register Authors List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Web Partners

Cooking Equipment (rec.food.equipment) Discussion of food-related equipment. Includes items used in food preparation and storage, including major and minor appliances, gadgets and utensils, infrastructure, and food- and recipe-related software.

do not shop at Kitchen Universe online



 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 01:58 AM posted to rec.food.equipment
KLS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online

I was looking around for that 10" wide Wusthof chef's knife
recommended here and ended up at one of those websites that shows the
various vendors of the item being sought. In this case, Kitchen
Universe was listed along with Amazon, and their price for what
clearly said "wide" body knife on this page was lower than Amazon's,
so I surfed over there to see about ordering it. To make a long story
short, I ordered the knife, and then when I read the order
confirmation, I noticed that the word "wide" was nowhere in the
product description, so I immediately replied to the email (it was the
same address as listed on the Kitchen Universe website) and told them
to cancel the order (and included [cancel this order] in the subject
header). No reply, so I sent a followup to remind them to cancel the
order, and still no reply. The payment went through on my credit
card, and I was furious. On top of that, they sent me a shipping
confirmation 6 days later telling me that the knife had shipped and
that I now could not change the order. Well, this was even more
infuriating because they were not answering their telephone either, so
now I have a written complaint in to my credit card along with a
screen capture of the website that caused all these problems plus
copies of the emails I sent. So, I recommend that no one buy anything
from Kitchen Universe because they are a fraudulent business.
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 03:40 AM posted to rec.food.equipment
KLS
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 58
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online

On Fri, 28 Dec 2007 21:21:30 -0600, Sqwertz
wrote:

On Sat, 29 Dec 2007 01:58:09 GMT, KLS wrote:

I was looking around for that 10" wide Wusthof chef's knife
recommended here and ended up at one of those websites that shows the
various vendors of the item being sought. In this case, Kitchen
Universe was listed along with Amazon, and their price for what
clearly said "wide" body knife on this page was lower than Amazon's,
so I surfed over there to see about ordering it. To make a long story
short, I ordered the knife, and then when I read the order
confirmation, I noticed that the word "wide" was nowhere in the
product description,


I don't even see it offered on their site. Gotta link?


That's the point: they don't sell this item, but they link to their
website from another site: pronto.com that shows vendors selling the
item. Here's the link in question:
http://www.pronto.com/Wusthof-4584-2...10304536998-CG

I think this is fraudulent advertising, and I don't appreciate their
unresponsiveness.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 03:53 AM posted to rec.food.equipment
Edwin Pawlowski
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 2,854
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online


"KLS" wrote in message
...
I was looking around for that 10" wide Wusthof chef's knife
recommended here and ended up at one of those websites that shows the
various vendors of the item being sought. In this case, Kitchen
Universe was listed along with Amazon, and their price for what
clearly said "wide" body knife on this page was lower than Amazon's,
so I surfed over there to see about ordering it. To make a long story
short, I ordered the knife, and then when I read the order
confirmation, I noticed that the word "wide" was nowhere in the
product description,


You did not do your homework. If you took the time to double check things,
you'd have seen that the model number is different. The photo looks
different. You just can't trust a link.


Well, this was even more
infuriating because they were not answering their telephone either, so
now I have a written complaint in to my credit card along with a
screen capture of the website that caused all these problems plus
copies of the emails I sent. So, I recommend that no one buy anything
from Kitchen Universe because they are a fraudulent business.


The customer service is crappy, but they are not fraudulent. Look at the
photo and the model number. If they sent was is shown, they did exactly
what you asked. You have a legitimate complaint about service, but you have
no complaint about the product they sold as it is exactly what you asked
for.


  #4 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 04:04 AM posted to rec.food.equipment
Kenneth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 536
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online

On Fri, 28 Dec 2007 22:53:15 -0500, "Edwin Pawlowski"
wrote:

You have a legitimate complaint about service, but you have
no complaint about the product they sold as it is exactly what you asked
for.


Also, the knife was not sold by Kitchen Universe at all. It
was purchased from Pronto.

All the best,
--
Kenneth

If you email... Please remove the "SPAMLESS."
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 07:33 PM posted to rec.food.equipment
Kenneth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 536
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online

On Fri, 28 Dec 2007 22:40:56 -0600, Sqwertz
wrote:

On Fri, 28 Dec 2007 23:04:43 -0500, Kenneth wrote:

Also, the knife was not sold by Kitchen Universe at all. It
was purchased from Pronto.


I wondered about that, but certainly cooking.com is not
affiliated with them. I doubt some of the others are pronto,
too.

-sw


Howdy,

I have no knowledge of all this, but did follow the link
(posted by the OP, I believe) and it took me to the Pronto
site.

All the best,
--
Kenneth

If you email... Please remove the "SPAMLESS."
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 29-12-2007, 09:08 PM posted to rec.food.equipment
Kenneth
external usenet poster
 
Posts: 536
Default do not shop at Kitchen Universe online

On Sat, 29 Dec 2007 21:02:15 GMT, Sqwertz
wrote:

Pronto is the comparison shopping site - which forwards you to
other sites.


Howdy,

Of course, you are right...

'Sorry for contributing to the confusion.

All the best,
--
Kenneth

If you email... Please remove the "SPAMLESS."
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


fitness forum |
All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6
Copyright ©2004-2008 FoodBanter.com, part of the NewsgroupBanter project.
The comments are property of their posters.
Finance - MPAA - Mortgages - Remortgages - Credit Cards